Friday, November 04, 2016

DuBois Award recipients

The DuBois Award is a Curtis Fort original bronze presented to the all-around cowboy and all-around cowgirl at NMSU each year.  Recipients are determined by NIRA points won in more than one event.

We had had no rodeo coach in the Fall of 2015 so there was no bronc riding & calf roping event and no awards were presented at that time.  We made up for that at the awards luncheon this year and had the recipients for the 2014-2015 season and the 2015-2016 season present.

Here is some info and pics of the recipients, plus I would like to add my appreciation to each of these outstanding student-athletes and thank them for being part of the NMSU rodeo program. We raise money for scholarships each year so we can attract this type of individual to NMSU.

DuBois Award 2015

Nicole SweazeaReceived degree in Animal Science, currently a graduate student in Education. Competed in BW, GT & TR and a two-time winner of the DuBois Award.

Tyke Kipp -  Sr. majoring in Business Mgt, competed in SW, SB & TR.  Reserve National Champion Steer Wrestler and a two-time winner of the DuBois Award.

 DuBois Award 2016

Anna Barker - Jr. majoring in Animal Science and competes in GT, BW, BR.

Josh Davison -  Sr. majoring in Ag Business and scored NIRA points in every event except SW. 

1 comment:

Myles Culbertson said...

It was a great evening with some impressive young athletes. Congratulations.